Compounding the problem

Racetrack, schoolroom, eyebrow.  What do these have in common?  I recently saw all of these compound words, and a few more that I can’t recall any longer, as two separate words.  I’m sure at some level these were typos that the spellchecker didn’t catch, but where’s the copyediting when you need it?

I know someone who works for a local newspaper, and he tells me that his coworkers simply don’t care about their work product.  I’m not sure if it’s the writers who submit stories with errors, the editors who are so overworked that they don’t have time to read everything, or the typesetters who introduce errors before printing.  I’m curious about it, and would love someone to describe their experiences.

The last three times I invested the time to submit a correction, it was well received in two of the three and I never heard anything from the third.  A pretty good average, but I tend to pick my battles.  Writing to the newspaper is fruitless; I just stop reading it until my internal cringe reaction goes away.

Has anyone submitted a correction to a website or newspaper recently, and if so, how was it received?  Did you get a response, was a correction made, and were you thanked for your feedback? 

Leave a Reply

